top of page

GreenPAC announces endorsed candidates for 2021 Federal election

Toronto, September 11, 2021 -- GreenPAC today announced its list of endorsed “Environmental Leaders” - candidates from Canada’s five major political parties who will put the environment first in Ottawa.

“These are the candidates who have shown they will stand up for our environment - candidates we can look to for strong leadership for the health of our planet,” says GreenPAC’s Executive Director, Sarah Van Exan.

GreenPAC endorsed 35 candidates across the major parties, encouraging environmentally-concerned Canadians to contribute volunteer hours and money to their campaigns. In the 2019 federal election, GreenPAC endorsed 27 candidates, 16 of whom were elected.

“We have a small window to solve the climate crisis. We also have the solutions to secure a safe, healthy and just future for all. What we need is leadership,” says Van Exan. “Millions of Canadians of all political stripes care deeply about the environment and climate change. Our endorsements are about making sure they can find and support environmental champions within the party of their choice who will lead for the environment.”

GreenPAC’s endorsed candidates are:

  • Marilou Alarie, Bloq, Ville de Saint-Bruno-de-Montarville (QC)

  • Dan Albas, Conservative, Central Okanagan—Similkameen-—Nicola (BC)

  • Anjali Appadurai, NDP, Vancouver Granville (BC)

  • Taylor Bachrach, NDP, Skeena—Bulkley Valley (BC)

  • Terry Beech, Liberal, Burnaby North—Seymour (BC)

  • Richard Cannings, NDP, South Okanagan—West Kootenay (BC)

  • Michael Chong, Conservative, Wellington—Halton Hills (ON)

  • Julie Dabrusin, Liberal, Toronto—Danforth (ON)

  • Phil De Luna, Green, Toronto—St. Paul's (ON)

  • Tria Donaldson, NDP, Regina—Lewvan (SK)

  • Terry Duguid, Liberal, Winnipeg South (MB)

  • Kirsty Duncan, Liberal, Etobicoke North (ON)

  • Leah Gazan, NDP, Winnipeg Centre (MB)

  • Karina Gould, Liberal, Burlington (ON)

  • Matthew Green, NDP, Hamilton Centre (ON)

  • Steven Guilbeault, Liberal, Laurier—Sainte-Marie (QC)

  • Lori Idlout, NDP, Nunavut (NU)

  • Gord Johns, NDP, Courtenay—Alberni (BC)

  • Peter Julian, NDP, New Westminster—Burnaby (BC)

  • Anna Keenan, Green, Malpeque (PE)

  • Larry Maguire, Conservative, Brandon—Souris (MB)

  • Paul Manly, Green, Nanaimo—Ladysmith (BC)

  • Elizabeth May, Green, Saanich—Gulf Islands (BC)

  • Dan Mazier, Conservative, Dauphin—Swan River—Neepawa (MB)

  • Susan McArthur, Conservative, Glengarry—Prescott—Russell (ON)

  • Jesse McCormick, Liberal, Kamloops—Thompson—Cariboo (BC)

  • Heather McPherson, NDP, Edmonton—Strathcona (AB)

  • Michael Morrice, Green, Kitchener Centre (ON)

  • Joyce Murray, Liberal, Vancouver Quadra (BC)

  • Mark Parent, Conservative, Kings—Hants (NS)

  • Monique Pauzé, Bloq, Repentigny (QC)

  • Peter Schiefke, Liberal, Vaudreuil—Soulanges (QC)

  • Paul Taylor, NDP, Parkdale—High Park (ON)

  • Julie Vignola, Bloq, Beauport—Limoilou (QC)

  • Jonathan Wilkinson, Liberal, North Vancouver (BC)

  • Lenore Zann, Liberal, Cumberland—Colchester (NS)

In the weeks leading up to today’s announcement, GreenPAC conducted research and sought input and nominations from parties, candidates, environmental organizations and Canadians. GreenPAC asked about candidates’ knowledge, experience and leadership in their communities, workplaces and parties for the environment and environmental justice. GreenPAC also looks at winnability, based on the past three elections and current polls. Endorsements are determined by the GreenPAC Expert Panel, an independent group of provincial and national environmental specialists with no party affiliations. The Panel focuses on track record and does not look at party platforms, campaign commitments or debate performances.


bottom of page